Help with GSM Shield

Hello
I am new to Arduino, although I have had 40 years of practice with industrial control systems.
I have a project in my mind that requires an SMS driven control system. I have hit a hurdle that I was hoping someone could help me with.
I have a Leonardo and a SIM900 GSM Shield.

I downloaded the Test Code from the page above, compiled and uploaded. I get the following Message

"Trying to force the baud-rate to 9600

ERROR: SIM900 doesn't answer. Check power and serial pins in GSM.cpp

status=IDLE"

I followed this up a bit and can see that the message is coming from the included librarys GSM.h and GSM.cpp. The way I understand this is that it really is saying that the GSM shield can not connect to the phone network.
The sim card is OK, I have tried with two different sim cards, both work in a phone but give the same error message in the GSM Shield.

Is anyone able to help me work out what is going wrong?

I am sure I have enough power, USB and a 12V car battery. The GSM.cpp assigns pin 8 and 9, this seems to be correct.

thanks
Warren

You’re right, the code in GSP.cpp has failed to communicate and is trying a fall-back method. Here’s what I would do;

• look at the Net Status LED on the module, and compare it against the table in the datasheet, to find out what the module thinks it is doing,

• check the TX and RX are around the right way; it would be easy to get them swapped; the schematic is a tad ambiguous; the TXD pin on the module is buffered by a level converter and then labelled RX on the Arduino side, which means it is actually an output,

• check the soft serial vs UART jumpers are properly in place; and conducting; jumpers have never gone wrong for me, but probing the pins with a multimeter will prove it, (or connect to the Leonardo via the centre pin on the jumpers instead of the edge connector),