IR Remote Control for Resistor Based Car Stereo Control

Hi

I am a novice when it comes to electronics, and I have never used an
Arduino. I have a bit of knowledge and experience in electronics, but completely basic. So please forgive me when it comes to any incorrect terms or misconceptions I may have.

I installed a car stereo recently that has wires (2 x5v, a 1 ground) which allows the connection of two resistor based controls (5 buttons on each). I built such a control on a breadboard (5 buttons for each input wire) and it works well. I did this following the concept on http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-access-5-buttons-through-1-Arduino-input/ but instead of plugging in to the Arduino I plugged it in to my stereo. Works well.

These wires are usually for integrated controls that are built in to the steering wheel of a car which my car does not have, and I do not want to go to the extent of running wires up my steering wheel column etc… So my question is as follows:

They do build nicely moulded strap on IR controls for steering wheels and I want to build my device so it interprets these signals and assigns (presses) the buttons I have built for example. It seems to be a relatively simple exercise with an Arduino to interpret IR signals following the https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/ir-control-kit-hookup-guide guide. I will be purchasing an Arduino because I am quite interested in electronics and want to start experimenting with a lot of things, but I was wondering if there are any cheaper permanent ways for me to build this for my car after I experiment with an Arduino to see if I can implement the concept.

I hope the above makes sense.

Thanks