Reprogrammed a Lily Tiny with a Tiny AVR Programmer and SOIC clip?

Can someone who has done this successfully help me please?

I’ve been trying and just can’t get it to work.

I have now snapped off the second set of right hand headers on the Programmer (hard to get the jumper wires in and that weakens the bond) and am on the way to burring my second SOIC IC test clip (doesn’t clip so easily over the ATtiny chip and slips off).

Is there a secret? I am an electronics noob so it could be my technique. But women are usually less rough with things aren’t they? :slightly_smiling:

Meanwhile I’m using the Programmer to program a standalone ATtiny85 successfully but I want the physical qualities of the Lily Tiny and would love to sort this out

Here’s hoping…
Sally

PS
Here’s the link to the description
https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/re-programming-the-lilytiny--lilytwinkle?_ga=1.69426326.707710893.1435561981

Yes, I’ve used the Tiny AVR ISP Programmer from Sparkfun to program individual ATtiny85 in 8-pin DIP, and over a six pin programming cable to a target board with an ICSP pinout. Used either the Arduino IDE or avrdude directly.

But I’ve not yet used a SOIC clip or the LilyTiny. As it has an ICSP pinout on the back, I’d be inclined to try that, with a temporary surface mount header, pogo pins or tack soldered kevlar insulated silver plated wire (aka wire wrap wire).

When you say you can’t get it to work, what happens when you try?

Can you use a multimeter in diode or resistance mode to prove the clip is working for each of the six critical pins? This can work because of the diodes built into each pin as the signal arrives on the chip. Let me know if you need detailed steps.

Is there anything soldered or attached to the pads of the LilyTiny? Attachments can interfere.