Year 12 Major Design Project

I am a year 12 student in Design and Technology and I am looking for a way to get a light beam to be projected off the back of learners vehicle at night on to the road to keep a safe distance (3 seconds) between a vehicle traveling behind.

I’ve thought about that kind of problem before.

Projecting a light beam isn’t hard. Lasers, data projectors, movable spotlights.

Doing it legally is hard; some states constrain the colours and intensities in traffic regulations. Check them.

Pointing it for safety and accuracy is hard, as it depends on relative speed of vehicles, loading balance of vehicle, and slope of road.

If you could describe the project in more detail; is it to encourage the learner to speed up, or to discourage a non-learner tailgating? I’m not sure how it would work from a social perspective. An inadvertently malicious non-learner would tend to follow a trailing beam marker, through pavlovian response.

The light is on the back off the learners car to prevent other drivers tailgating at night time. Also making it visible to see learner drivers at night time.

How does a light on the back of a car prevent tailgating?

To show 3 second gap on the road

How does a three second gap on the road being shown prevent tailgating?

It’s difficult to see the l plate beside the number plate without and number plate light so my project is to show a light using some mechanism to show the led light on the road

Okay, as long as you accept that what you are doing is lighting up the L plate, not changing behaviour of tailing drivers. :grin:

What shape of light beam; what surface area of road must be covered, and to what observed intensity?

How will your system calculate the angle of the beam?

Don’t worry my project is obviously to sophisticated for your understanding.